Skip to main content

I’m no regex expert but I’ve managed to fudge together what I thought would be a functional check for whether a form filler is trying to use new line characters in text fields. My regex is:

(?<=l^\r\n])\R(?=R^\r\n])

It looks like it should work:

But when I implemented the regex in my web form entering anything in the field results in the input failing the validation check:

What am I missing? Do web forms use new line characters as part of the field? Why would a single word with no spaces or anything match my pattern?

@gulf5724 

If your goal is to simply detect the presence of newline characters in any text input, a simpler approach might be more effective: g\r\n]

This pattern will match any occurrence of \r (carriage return) or \n (newline) in the input. This is generally sufficient for detecting newline characters in text fields.

@gulf5724

If your goal is to simply detect the presence of newline characters in any text input, a simpler approach might be more effective: >\r\n]

This pattern will match any occurrence of \r (carriage return) or \n (newline) in the input. This is generally sufficient for detecting newline characters in text fields.

It still fails the validation check:

Anybody else have any ideas? It seems like it should be working….

Hi @gulf5724,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Are you selecting “Long Text”, as part of your text box settings?

Best regards,   

Alejandro R. | Docusign Community Moderator   

"Select as Best" below if you find the answer a valid solution to your issue!   

@gulf5724 

Can you explain the use case and why you want to filter out the new line breaks?

I came across the issue with new line breaks working with SharePoint, when the text field is defined as multiple lines of text. This can result in issues when you pass the values via API to Docusign.