Hi,
Thank you for reaching out here in the DocuSign Community.
You are correct, whenever you might want to update the total of seats being billed in your account, you are welcome to close (by following the steps mentioned, here) the users in question and these will not be taken into consideration for future invoices.
For more details on how to manage your DocuSign subscription, see:
Billing FAQ: DocuSign eSignature
Feel free to let us know if you need further assistance with this.
Thank you for using DocuSign, we hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!
Best regards,
Alejandro R. | DocuSign Community Moderator
"Select as Best" below if you find the answer a valid solution to your issue!