Skip to main content
Legacy User
Apr 3, 2023 11:17 AM UTC
Solved

If I remove a user, do any envelopes, documents or folders originating from this user get deleted from our account?

If I remove a user, do any envelopes, documents or folders originating from this user get deleted from our account?
Docusign Employee
Apr 3, 2023 2:30 PM UTC

Hello,

Thank you for reaching out here in the DocuSign Community.

No, they are not deleted, if a user is closed, the admin can still access all of their envelopes (actually their Manage tab to be more precise) using Shared Envelopes.

This can be enabled by going to:

  1. Settings
  2. Users
  3. In the filter's dropdown, select "Closed"
  4. Select the actions drop-down next to the needed closed user
  5. Select "Share user's envelopes"
  6. Add users
  7. And add yourself and/or any other active user

Let us know if you need further assistance with this.

Best regards,

Nathaly | DocuSign Community Moderator

"Select as Best" below if you find the answer a valid solution to your issue!

2 replies

Docusign Employee
Apr 3, 2023 2:30 PM UTC

Hello,

Thank you for reaching out here in the DocuSign Community.

No, they are not deleted, if a user is closed, the admin can still access all of their envelopes (actually their Manage tab to be more precise) using Shared Envelopes.

This can be enabled by going to:

  1. Settings
  2. Users
  3. In the filter's dropdown, select "Closed"
  4. Select the actions drop-down next to the needed closed user
  5. Select "Share user's envelopes"
  6. Add users
  7. And add yourself and/or any other active user

Let us know if you need further assistance with this.

Best regards,

Nathaly | DocuSign Community Moderator

"Select as Best" below if you find the answer a valid solution to your issue!

Translate
Newcomer
Sep 10, 2024 3:33 PM UTC

Hello Docusign Community,

I wanted to ask if this is still valid, as an admin user, I have tried applying these instructions in both Chrome and Edge, however the final step of assign seems to appear with an X. I have even reinstated the closed users account and its still showing the same thing. 

I would very much appreciate your help 

Thank you

Translate