Solved

DocuSign Audit

• 12 April 2024
  • 3 replies

Badge +2

I am new with DocuSign, but have a question, in the past I've told people that we should not accept our documents that customers sign using the customer's DS account.  For instance, we mail or email a document for their signature, and they use their DS to electronically sign it.  I have not accepted those because I was afraid that, in the event of a dispute in the future, I might have problems obtaining the audit information from DS since it wasn't my account.   am I right to take that stance?

icon

Best answer by Derrick.Tran 12 April 2024, 23:48

View Original

3 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +8

@Todd Ritrievi - Welcome to the DocuSign community.   If they are using their own DocuSign account, it would be the same if they were signing any other DocuSign account.   You need to make sure the validity of the envelope has not been tampered with in the PDF. 

You might want to contact your legal department or your internal ESignature policies.    Also, since you have DocuSign now, you may no longer mail or email documents.

Userlevel 3
Badge +4

Hello @Todd Ritrievi,

Friendly disclosure, I am not a business lawyer and far from it. I hope more folks from the community contribute more to this question from their past experiences. This is a very good question and it doesn’t have a straight forward answer. In my opinion, it will depend on what is being disputed. Terms of a contract, I wouldn’t expect to be an issue because you wouldn’t need a Docusign audit log or history for something like that.