Casual DocuSign User
mtherien
Accepted Solution

This User lacks sufficient permissions. Fail to resolve SendOnBehalfOf user

I am new to using your API, so maybe I am doing something wrong.

I get the following error message when calling CreateEnvelopeFromTemplates:

This User lacks sufficient permissions. Fail to resolve SendOnBehalfOf user

I checked the user that the code is using and it does have the "Send On Behalf Of Rights (API)" right checked.

I'm out of ideas, do you have any? 

WTP
DocuSign Team
WTP

Re: This User lacks sufficient permissions. Fail to resolve SendOnBehalfOf user

The "initiator" has to have "Send On Behalf Of" rights.  But this error looks like it is saying the user that the envelope is being sent on behalf of (the ultimate owner for the envelope), cannot be resolved.  The SOBO user must also be a member of the initiator's account AND must have sending rights.  This error is implying that the user cannot be resolved to a member of your account.

Take a look at who you are sending on behalf of and make sure you have their email address (or user ID if used instead) correct.  If it is correct AND they are an active user in your account, then update this post.  Again, make sure they are in the Production account and not just in the Demo account.

HTH

Casual DocuSign User
mtherien

Thanks for your response.

I'm not following your response and its probably because I'm not understanding all of the pieces.

I'm not sure who the initiator is.  I assume it is the account that I am using to login to the API.  If it is not, then I don't know where I should be setting this.

The receipients our not users in our system, but external email addresses.